A Movie I Love: The Sandlot

Hello my lovely readers and happy Wednesday! I’ve decided to try out my first every ‘series’ on my blog. If you have ever talked to me for more than five minutes, you know that I love movies. I’m really good at identifying actors and quoting obscure lines in movies. As a kid, my dad basically held me hostage and forced me to watch his favorite movies. While I hated it back then, I’m thankful for it now as I am a wealth of movies knowledge.

Since I love movies so much, I thought it would be fun to occasionally tell you about one of my favorite movies. From favorite quotes to my personal experiences with the film, I’d like to just talk, if that’s cool with everyone!

I’m not sure how often I’ll do this, but I’m excited to try it!


Let’s begin this new venture with one of my favorite movies from my childhood: The Sandlot!

If you haven’t watched The Sandlot, go. Right now. Do it.

If I had to explain to someone what The Sandlot is about, I don’t think it would sound very interesting. A movie about a group of young boys  in the 1960s who love baseball and hang out for a summer… Yup.
Image result for the sandlot

But if you have seen The Sandlot, you know that it is so much more than that. Full of amazing one liners and some of the best child actors I’ve ever seen (on par with The Goonies and Stranger Things), The Sandlot is grand in its simplicity. Its a movie you can start at any point and finish no problem. If you see it on your TV guide, you watch it. When someone messes up in your everyday life, you find it perfectly acceptable to yell, “You’re killin’ me, Smalls!” While I obviously was not a young, baseball-loving boy in the 1960s, I feel like I can really relate to these kids. You can find a part of yourself in this movie.

The reason I’ve decided to start with The Sandlot (and the inspiration for this series) comes from a weird moment at a coffee shop last night. My boyfriend and I were sitting in Aspen Coffee, working on various school things and listening to the random music the coffee shop had to offer. Suddenly, “This Magic Moment” by The Drifters came on, and I immediately thought of The Sandlot. My boyfriend, who is nowhere near the movie buff that I am, had no idea what I was talking about when I told him that every time I hear this song I think of Wendy Peffercorn, the lifeguard. One of the best scenes in the movie, in my opinion, is when Squints jumps into the deep end (despite the fact that he can’t swim) just so Wendy Peffercorn, the hot lifeguard, will give him mouth-to-mouth. The Drifters song will forever make me picture that scrawny kid being banned from the pool for life.

Now that I’ve talked about it, I really want to watch it. And I’m sure I will find a way. I will always be okay with watching this movie. It is a classic, to me and many others. I would recommend it to absolutely everybody in the world. Image result for the sandlot

So there it is. My feelings on The Sandlot. I’m sure this series will begin to evolve as I do it more. I hope you like this idea and I’m excited to see where it goes.

Thank you for reading and remember kids: Heroes get remembered, but legends never die.

One thought on “A Movie I Love: The Sandlot

Leave a Reply

