Reading Resolutions for 2017

Happy 2017! I’ve never been one for New Year’s Resolutions. I’ve never put energy into completing them and when I don’t, I always feel bad about it. But I’ve decided to make a New Year’s Resolution about the books I would like to read. Being a Literature major, I do a lot of reading, but not really for fun anymore. So I’m hoping to read for fun more this year and I think listing my books out could help with that. So! Here we go!

Wool by Hugh Howey- I’ve already started this one and I’m totally hooked. I’m all about post-apocalyptic dystopias and this one hooks you within the first 5 pages.

Image result for wool book

1984 by George Orwell– A classic that I’ve somehow never read. As a huge Animal Farm fan, I’m excited to enter another Orwellian world.

Image result for 1984

Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams- A book I’ve started a million times and have never finished. But this is the year! 

Image result for hitchhiker's guide to the galaxy

Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch– This is my boyfriend’s favorite book, so I feel like I have to read it.

Image result for good omens

Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut- Despite the fact that I read over half of this pretty short novel, I weirdly never finished it. I blame academia.

Slaughterhouse-Five

The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison– Saving this one for a time when I’m okay with getting EXTREMELY sad. If you ever want to get your heart ripped out, read something by Toni Morrison.

Image result for the bluest eye

After the Funeral by Agatha Christie– I’m taking a Murder Mystery literature class this semester so I’m super pumped to immerse myself in the world of detective fiction. Why not start with the queen?

After the Funeral US First Edition Cover 1953.jpg

The Girls by Emma Cline- Because of my weird fascination with true crime and serial killers, a book about the Manson girls is everything I need in my life.

26893819.jpg

The Princess Diarist by Carrie Fisher– As a lifelong Star Wars fan, my soul aches at the loss of Carrie Fisher. Getting to experience her light and warmth will be a true experience.

9780399173592_p0_v8_s192x300.jpg

 

I hope that by physically listing them out, I will be better at keeping up with my goal. I hope to finish all of these and add more to my list (which I will of course share with you all!). Here’s to 2017, fresh starts and new books!

 

Cheers!

 

Leave a Reply

